Aussie Millions Recap And Main Event Day 4

Day 4 of the Aussie Millions Main Event has already finished, which means one of the year’s most exciting tournaments will be wrapping up in just two days. Only the final table of the Main Event, the No Limit Hold’em Bounties and the Turbo No Limit Hold’em events are left undecided. We’ll get to the Day 4 results soon, but first let’s take just a moment to look back on the historical 2011 Aussie Millions.

Last year was a roller coaster ride for the poker industry, and some of the biggest events posted their lowest numbers. A lot of people were dubious about the future of live poker, but it’s already clear that 2011 could be the game’s most explosive year yet. It all started with the PCA which made headlines when it offered its own $100,000 buy-in event to rival the Aussie Millions’ longstanding $100,000 Challenge. In response, the Aussie Millions not only hosted their usual $100,000 Challenge, they also introduced their own new Super High Roller event with a record-breaking $250,000 buy-in.

The Aussie Millions also played host to a high stakes cash game that ended up as a rematch between Phil Ivey, Tom Dwan, John Juanda and the three Chinese businessmen they made millions off of in Macao last year. Those same businessmen showed up for the Super High Roller event but fell just short of the top three paying places. Who did win? Erik Seidel, and the AUD $2.5 million paycheck was enough to propel him into the third spot for lifetime earnings.

Now back to Day 4… Patrik Antonius fans will be pleased to hear that the notable pro has finally found his way to an Aussie Millions final table. He’s been trying all week without much luck, but today he caught a break; he’ll be entering the last day of the Main Event with the sixth-place chip stack. Bluff Magazine’s 2010 Player of the Year, Sorel Mizzi, also fared reasonably well but hit the rail in 9th, just missing the last day of Main Event action. Here are the chip counts for the final eight players:

  1. Randy Dorfman – 3,895,000
  2. James Keys – 2,395,000
  3. David Gorr – 2,370,000
  4. Samad Razavi – 1,360,000
  5. Patrik Antonius – 1,300,000
  6. Jeff Rossiter – 1,235,000
  7. Michael Ryan – 960,000
  8. Chris Moorman – 955,000

Related Entries